Lazy Chiles Rellenos

12 Oct

I’ve wanted to try making chiles rellenos for awhile now. My grocery store NEVER has poblanos! Well finally the store had nice big green beautiful poblano peppers. I Bought six because I couldn’t remember how many the recipe called for. This turned out disastrous. The picture doesn’t even do the disaster justice! I used 2% milk instead of whole maybe that’s why it turned out so watery??? I even roasted my the peppers myself instead of using canned! And I used a smaller pan so it took FOREVER to set! I’ll have to try a different recipe next time! Thankfully I had made some tj’s mini chicken Tamalitos too!

20121012-205020.jpg

Lazy Chiles Rellenos
adapted from pioneer woman

Ingredients
8 whole Roasted, Peeled, And Seeded Green Chiles
1-1/2 cup Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
5 whole Large Eggs
2 cups Whole Milk
Salt And Black Pepper To Taste
1/2 teaspoon Paprika
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

Instructions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Mix together eggs, milk, salt, pepper, paprika and cayenne.
Cut chilies in half and add a single layer of chilies on the bottom of a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.
Top chilies with half the grated cheese.
Repeat with another layer of chilies and another layer of cheese.
Pour egg mixture all over the top.
Place into a larger baking dish or rimmed baking sheet. Pour in 1/2 inch of water and bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until completely set.
Cut into squares and serve with warm corn tortillas!

2 Responses to “Lazy Chiles Rellenos”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chili Relleno Casserole « ilonaskitchen - January 9, 2013

    […] had really low expectations for this recipe after my last disaster with chiles rellenos. I was pleasantly surprised that this came out really good!!! Would definitely make this […]

  2. Stuffed poblanos | ilonaskitchen - August 18, 2013

    […] arrived in our fresh box. I had no ideas for what to do with them! Last time I had poblanos I had a recipe fail. I decided to try something different this time. These came out […]

Leave a Reply

