baked quinoa with chicken sausage and spinach

23 Oct

Shoprite had some flavored chicken sausage on sale last week. I figured why not give it a whirl. Im not a fan of regular sausage, but thought why not maybe this kind will be ok. This recipe was perfect because I also had spinach to use up! I thought this was ok, the husband really liked it though.

20121023-220748.jpg

baked quinoa with chicken sausage and spinach
adapted from I was born to cook

1 cup quinoa, cooked according to package instructions
1 package chicken sausage, cut into bite size pieces I used a roasted garlic blend
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 garlic cloves
1 bag baby spinach
salt and pepper
1 1/2 cups shredded pizza blend cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in a large skillet. Add garlic and onion, then sausage. Season with salt and pepper. Cook through, then add spinach. Add salt and pepper again to taste. Cook until spinach is slightly wilted.

Pour sausage mixture into a deep pie plate, then add quinoa. Mix together. Top with cheese and
bake for about 20 minutes, until cheese has melted and everything is heated through.

One Response to “baked quinoa with chicken sausage and spinach”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Potatoes, Chicken Sausage and Peppers | ilonaskitchen - June 23, 2013

    […] think I’ve mentioned that I wasn’t a fan of sausage. I even gave chicken sausage a try, and it was eh ok. I decided to give it one last try. I found this recipe on skinnytaste usually […]

Leave a Reply

